The Museum of South Texas History is located in Edinburg, Texas. It features exhibits on the history of the Rio Grande Valley, as well as the rest of South Texas and Northern Mexico.The museum now owns more than a city block, located on the square in Edinburg. The Museum opened in 1970 as the Hidalgo County Historical Museum. It was originally housed in Hidalgo Countys Old Jail, a Texas National Landmark, built in 1910.
It would be almost twenty years before the Lower Rio Grande Valley National Wildlife Refuge would be established to preserve the Valley”s native habitat. It would be a decade before the nation would celebrate Earth Day. But in 1960, residents of the Valley embarked on a remarkable conservation project that was ahead of its time.In that year, the Valley Botanical Garden, later renamed the McAllen Nature Center, was established in part to preserve a native forest.
Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge is a 2,088-acre (8.45 km2) National Wildlife Refuge situated along the banks of the Rio Grande, south of Alamo in the Lower Rio Grande Valley, in Hidalgo County, South Texas.The nature refuge was established for the protection of migratory birds in 1943. Its unique location is at the meeting of different climates and habitats: subtropical wetlands, Chihuahuan Desert, Gulf Coast, and Great Plains. Its riparian location has developed a reputation for diverse birding.
The Texas Recreation and Parks Society honored eight parks including Brenham's Fireman's Park with the Lone Star Legacy Park designation at the annual Institute and Expo in February 2014. A Lone Star Legacy Park is a park that holds special prominence in the local community and the state of Texas. From the establishment of Fireman's Park in 1884 the citizens have enjoyed an open space that had been a memorable experience for community affairs as well as family events. In 1884, the Fire Department used their own funds to purchase the site of Fireman's Park. Fireman's Park was eventually given by the Fire Department to the City of Brenham on March 14, 1917 "for cancellation of the department's indebtedness to the city."
Red Roof Inn Pharr